Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Pack weight...advice  (Read 12156 times)

Alphagoose

• Day Hiker
Pack weight...advice
« on: October 22, 2015, 08:44:10 PM »

As I mentioned in an earlier post...I am planning on a thru hike of the sheltowee trail. I have no prior experience as far as overnighting it. To be perfectly honest, this is probably a little too much of a hike when you factor in the fact that I am about fifty pounds overweight. Oh well. Go big or go home eh? Anyway, I am going through with the hike. I just weighed my pack, and with everything I need to go at least seven days at a time...my pack weighs exactly 50 pounds. I have shed as much as I feel comfortable. Can I get some opinions on a 50 pound pack? Is this somewhat middle ground? If I meet ten other experienced hikers along the trail, who are also doing a thru hike...if I were to weigh everyone's pack...will mine likely be the heaviest? Or just average? I realize this is a question without a definitive answer, and the pack weight is somewhat relative to the size of the hiker. I would just like opinions on your personal preferences. What would your pack weigh if you were the one doing this hike?
Thanks for the help...AG

wsp_scott

• Back Packer
Re: Pack weight...advice
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2015, 09:11:10 PM »

I have never done a thru hike and never done a trip longer than 5 nights, so take that into consideration. With that said, if I was hiking in the summer or early fall, my pack would weigh no more than 30 pounds for 7 days/6 nights. I would figure ~1.5 pounds of food per day and I would not plan on carrying much water (no dry camps if possible) hopefully never more than 2 liters.

Does your 50 pounds include food and water? Clothes? All the little things that quickly add up?