Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sheltowee thru hike in november  (Read 1460 times)

Alphagoose

• Day Hiker
Sheltowee thru hike in november
« on: October 11, 2015, 09:26:31 PM »

This is my first post on this site, and one of only a handful anywhere...so I apologize if this isn't the appropriate place to post about this topic. But anyway, I am planning on doing a through hike of the Sheltowee Trace this November. Other than my dog I will be going it alone. I have never done anything like this before and I am trying to work out the logistics of my hike. I am guesstimating that I can pack about a seven day supply of food. I have conservatively figured that I should need to resupply about every 75 miles. I will be going from north to south. I figure that the first 75 mile resupply should put me near Wellington, or Botts. At 150 miles my nearest resupply should be near Livingston, and my last resupply at around 225 miles should be near Whitley city. Does anyone have any experience with this hike along with having to resupply? I am planning on mailing my food when I head out. Does anyone know how I should address my packages? And last...does anyone familiar with this area see any problems with my maildrop locations?  I am from KY, but I'm a pretty good ways from that area, and I am not familiar with any of the small towns. Heck, when I look at the map I am not sure what's listed is even a town. Kinda like where I live I guess. Any help is greatly appreciated.

KYhiker40

• Thru Hiker
Re: Sheltowee thru hike in november
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2015, 07:31:51 AM »

Unfortunately I can't help with your specific questions, but not being familiar with the extent of your research I thought I'd add just a little local knowledge to your hike.