Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 24, 2020, 08:24:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Shoutbox

Last 5 Shouts:

keith

July 04, 2020, 06:22:36 PM
Happy Independence Day!

Bazinga

December 25, 2019, 06:11:55 AM
Ho Ho Ho Merry Chirstmas!!

Bazinga

November 28, 2019, 07:14:11 AM
Happy Thanksgiving!  Gobble till you wobble. LOL!

Bazinga

October 12, 2019, 07:24:47 AM
YAY!! Cooler Weather has Finally Arrived!!!  ;D

ShifuCareaga

January 02, 2019, 11:28:09 AM
tick warning. My kids picked up ticks WAYY out of season at BSF and Marrowbone, so check yourselves...

Show 50 latest
23 Guests, 0 Users
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: BSF Wisdom Wanted  (Read 892 times)

Backcountry Strider

• Day Hiker
BSF Wisdom Wanted
« on: July 23, 2018, 09:55:26 PM »

Have decided to spend a night in the BSF on the way to my weeklong Asheville trip.  As this is my first time and I am bringing my wife who I am trying to gently introduce to my other love of the outdoors, I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good day trip as well as some camping. Basically trying to put together a full day hike and car camping in the same area. Doesn't appear to be many campground options and I was thinking about doing the Angel Falls and overlook trail so I'd like be around there.  How is the backcountry camping?  It appears you can camp with 200 feet of the parking areas; is this feasible/a good idea? 

ShifuCareaga

• Thru Hiker
Re: BSF Wisdom Wanted
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2018, 11:06:32 PM »

sorry I can't tell what you want, because you seem pretty knowledgable already. are you looking for help KY wide or TN side? And are you heading south or passing through?

For your wife, frankly I'd do all the stuff that is easiest to do, such as Yahoo Falls or Mark's Branch Falls, or Lick Creek Falls, maybe one of the easy overlooks.