Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 20, 2014, 08:02:37 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Shoutbox

Last 5 Shouts:

hungrybear

September 12, 2014, 08:24:27 PM
It feels like fall, I'm ready to hike!

Lizking531

June 20, 2014, 11:41:20 AM
Deam Wilderness - canoe & hammock camping - perfect getaway weekend!
 :)

Bazinga

March 20, 2014, 10:05:32 PM
Spring has arrived!!!

airedale68

March 14, 2014, 02:53:51 AM
wondrous!

keith

February 08, 2014, 11:52:42 AM
Yo!

Show 50 latest
11 Guests, 0 Users
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: butter/oil for backpacking  (Read 2497 times)

JohnGotti

• Day Hiker
  • The Cajun Crododile Dundee
butter/oil for backpacking
« on: June 08, 2005, 03:51:46 AM »

hey guys. I just kinda stumbled onto a great food item for your next trip. I'm a delivery driver at Domino's here in Richmond, so i'm always getting little things from the store.  Well, the butter flavored oil (Whirl) that they use for breadstix and cinnastix is perfect for those noodle/rice dinners etc that call for butter.  This stuff turns those dinners into gourmet feasts. Just substitute the same amount of Whirl for the same amount of butter.  It keeps for a month at 90 degree temps and for six months in a cool place at home. Yummy to skillet fry fish (NOT deep fry) in too, as i found out on my last trip.  You might be able to find it at the supermarket, but if you could go to a Domino's store and sweet talk the manager into selling or ordering some for you. It only comes in a gallon jug and its kind of expensive at that size, but you could possibly talk 'em into selling it to you in smaller quantities. Tell 'em you're a backpacker and what you want it for and bring your own container .  I use a 20 oz bottle of it, but I do alot of fishing on the trail, so I use more than a normal person would.  Hope this helps you guys.

The Dapper Don